Press Clipping
Go: Organic Orchestra Summer Solstice Concert

Adam Rudolph and Go: Organic Orchestra find the dynamic, beautiful center of globally informed, improvisationally generated sound.

A walled city, a map of the world, a spiraling call: a mandala’s meaning extends far beyond pattern and line. It does more than represent an ideal or suggest a path. It is reality, laid out in its true form, for us to contemplate. Composer and percussionist Adam Rudolph finds a similar shape of things via sound, enlisting the Go: Organic Orchestra, an ensemble of players who can be assembled anywhere, anytime.

When & where
Thursday, June 25, 2015 @ 8pm
Brooklyn Conservatory of Music, 58 Seventh Ave, Brooklyn
New York

Admission $15

Adam Rudolph – composer, conductor

Kaoru Watanabe – noh kan, fue, c flute
Michel Gentile – c and alto flute, bamboo flutes
Sylvain Leroux – tambin, flute
Mariano Gil – bass flute, alto flute

Ned Rothenberg – b flat & bass clarinet, shakuhachi
Avram Fefer – b flat clarinet, tenor saxophone
J.D. Parran – e flat clarinet, contra bass clarinet, bamboo flutes
Sean Sonderegger – b flat clarinet, contra bass clarinet, ney

Sara Schoenbeck – bassoon, sona
Batya Sobel – oboe

Graham Haynes – cornet, flugelhorn, bamboo horn
Peter Zummo – trombone, conch, didgeridoo
Libby Schwatrz – french horn, bamboo horn
Benjamin Stapp – tuba

Charlie Burnham – violin
Trina Basu – violin
Elektra Kurtis – violin
Sanaco Nagano – violin
Gwen Laster – viola
Melanie Dyer – viola
Alva Anderson – viola, voice
Chris Mees – contrabass
Leco Reis – contrabass

Brahim Fribgane – oud, dumbek, percussion
Shakoor Sanders – congas, bata, percussion
Joe Hertenstien – percussion

Kenny Wessel – guitars, banjo
Alexis Marcelo – piano, fender rhodes
Damon Banks – bass guitar

For the past three decades composer, improviser and percussionist Adam Rudolph has performed extensively in concert throughout North & South America, Europe, Africa, and Asia. Rudolph has been hailed as “a pioneer in world music” by the NY Times and “a master percussionist” by Musician magazine. He has released 25 recordings under his own name, featuring his compositions and percussion work. Rudolph composes for his ensembles Moving Pictures and Organic Orchestra, an 18 to 54 piece group for which he has developed an original music notation and conducting system. He has taught and conducted hundreds of musicians in the Organic Orchestra concept; most recently in Sicily, Naples, Oslo, and Istanbul, NYC and LA. Rudolph recently premiered his opera The Dreamer, based on the text of Friedreich Nietzsche’s The Birth of Tragedy.